IIWC is open to ICOMOS members of various professional backgrounds who have experience, knowledge, or particular interest in the preservation of wood in historic buildings or structures. There are two categories of individual membership: Expert members (with a speciality in the field of wood conservation) and Associate members (who wish to gain knowledge and build up an expertise in a given field through active volunteer work).

To become a Member, you are required to provide to the Secretary and President:

  • a completed IWC Application Form (see below) in English, French or Spanish;
  • A CV.

Send completed application to our membership coordinator at

Note: If you are to be your country's voting representative we should have a note to that effect from your National Committee.


Non-ICOMOS members, who want to make a contribution to IIWC, may be invited to participate in committee meetings and activities. They should send their contact information to the IIWC Secretariat or to any of the Managing Group members.




  Symposium            Course           Call for Papers            Register Here



Argentina Maria Elena Mazzantini   Australia Peter FreemanQinghua GuoTanya L. Park  Belgium Thierry  Descamps  Canada Lyse BlanchetMary GlendinningGregory MacNeilIan McGillivrayEvan OxlandGordon MacDonald   Italy Francesco AugelliAntonio FrattariGennaro Tampone Japan Ayako HoriuchiNobuko InabaErika KoshiAlejandro Martinez de ArbuloYumi Isabelle Naito-AkiedaToshikazu TsuchimotoYasufumi UekitaSatoshi UnnoYasuhiro WatanabeTakeshi Sasaki         



Chen Gao

Yue Pan

Ye Jingxian








Maanwi Chawla




Panu Kaila

Kirsti Kovanen

Pasi Kovalainen

Antti Pikhala

Ulla Rahola

Anu Soikkeli



Paraschos Karavatakis

Eleftheria Tsakanika




In-Souk Cho



Giedre Filipaviciene



Luis Ignacio Gómez

Iris Ortiz

Aurelio Sanchez

Christian Zamora

Maria de Guadalupe Zepeda





Jan Willem van Beusekom

United Kingdom


Doug Evans

Phoebe Gresford

Hugh Harrison

David Michelmore




Andrew Fearon

Mary A. Jablonski

Fallon Murphy




Johan Mattsson



Dominik Mączyński



Teresa Artola

Mikel Landa

Alazne Ochandiano

Liliana Palaia



Nils Ahlberg

Mats Almolf

Stephan Gunther

Karin Lofgren

Ylva Sandin

Tina Wik



Damla Acar

Banu  Celebioglu

Aynur Cifci

Emine Erdogmus

Süheyla Koç



Chiedza Zhahare


Delhi 2017: IIWC Principles approvedThe ICOMOS Advisory Committee at the General Assembly meeting in Delhi 2017 has approved the new 2017 IIWC "Principles". The new document is an update of the original 1999 version. Read more   "Investigations in Tree Archaeology". Sheffield, UKSYBRG (Econet) & partners are organising two conferences on the theme of ‘Tree Archaeology’ looking at archaeology and heritage at the core of understanding treescapes. 16/17 May 2018.  Call for papers. Read more  CIPA OTTAWA 2017The 26th International Symposium on “Digital Workflows for Heritage Conservation” will be held in Ottawa, Canada next year, from August 28th to Sept 1st.          Image: Dimitri B. Flickr 19th Triennial General Assembly. Delhi, IndiaIn 2017, the 19th Triennial General Assembly and annual Advisory Committee will take place from 11 - 15 December 2017... Read more In 2017, the 19th Triennial General Assembly and annual Advisory Committee will take place from 11 - 15 December 2017 in Delhi on the invitation of ICOMOS India.On this occasion an International Scientific Symposium on the issue of "Heritage & Democracy" (working title) will take place.More information will be posted in due course.